Bimb vs the rest.

Auto-zoom on every click is now table stakes. What differs is where it works, where your video lives and what you pay. Here is how nine other recorders stack up.

Checked 24 Sep 2026 against each vendor’s own pages. We make Bimb, so read this with that in mind. “Not stated” means the vendor’s pages didn’t say. Prices change, so check the linked pages.

RecorderAuto-zoom on clicksBeyond the browser tabWhere your video livesPrice
BimbChrome extension (Chrome, Edge, Brave)Auto-zoom on clicksEvery click, or follow-cursor modeNo. Screen and window recordings have no click data, so no auto-zoomLocal only. No account to recordFree to record. Pro $49 early-bird (first 200), then $79 one-time
Screen StudiomacOS desktop appAuto-zoom on clicksZooms where clicks occurredCapture modes: display, window, area. Which get auto-zoom: not statedLocal app; optional shareable linksFrom $9/mo billed yearly. No free tier stated
ScreenSmoothChrome extension (Chrome, Edge, Brave)Auto-zoom on clicksDetects clicks while recordingNot stated. A desktop app is on their roadmapLocal, in the browser$79 one-time
CursorfulChrome-family extensionAuto-zoom on clicksTwo or more clicks within 3 sNo. Their site: zooms do not work when another app is in focusLocal rendering, no sign-upFree plan. Pro $79 one-time
TellaWeb recorder, Mac and Windows apps, Chrome extensionAuto-zoom on clicksFrom recorded cursor data, several stylesApps: yes. Extension: only when sharing a browser tabCloud hosted, account neededPro $13/mo billed yearly. 7-day trial
FocuSeeWindows and Mac desktop appAuto-zoom on clicksOn mouse clicks and typingRecords full screen, window or area. Which get auto-zoom: not statedLocal by default, optional cloud$49.99/yr or $199.99 lifetime
CanvidWindows and Mac desktop appAuto-zoom on clicksEvery click, long click or Ctrl+clickRecords full screen or a window. Per-mode zoom: not statedCloud storage included, account needed$75 lifetime or $84/yr
ScreenityFree open-source Chrome extension + paid cloud editorAuto-zoom on clicksIn the paid editor: clicks become zoomsNot statedRecorder local; editor in the cloud (EU)Recorder free. Editor $10/mo
LoomDesktop app, Chrome extension, mobileNo auto-zoomClick highlight only, desktop app on paid plansNot applicableCloud, account neededFree: 25 videos, 5 min each. Business $18/user/mo
DescriptDesktop app + browser recordingManual zoom onlyManual zoom keyframes onlyNot applicableCloud projects, account impliedFree (720p, watermark). Hobbyist $16/mo billed yearly

Where Bimb is behind

  • Auto-zoom needs click data, and an extension only sees clicks inside the tab it records. Screen and window recordings get no auto-zoom (Cursorful has the same limit; Tella’s extension too). Desktop apps such as Screen Studio, FocuSee and Canvid track the mouse system-wide.
  • No webcam bubble and no auto-captions yet. Tella, FocuSee and Canvid have both.
  • Chrome, Edge and Brave only. No Firefox or Safari, and no native desktop app.
  • Young product: fewer integrations and no team or cloud features. Bimb is a single-user tool by design.

Where Bimb is the better fit

  • You record web apps: bug reports, PR walkthroughs, changelog GIFs, docs. That is exactly the tab.
  • Your video never leaves your browser and recording needs no account, so it is fine for unreleased product.
  • Trim idle time in one step, add a click sound, and export WebM, MP4 or GIF with presets built for those jobs.
Get Bimb Pro